Choose a language Choose a language

The LEZ Seville environmental zone

The city of Seville is located in the southwestern part of Spain, about 100 km away from the Atlantic coast. Seville is the capital of the province with the same name. It has around 690,000 inhabitants on an area of approx. 141 km² and is the fourth largest city in Spain after Madrid, Barcelona and Valencia.
The LEZ Seville environmental zone, which was approved in November 2017 and came into force on 21.09.2018, is a temporary environmental zone. It covers the city area as well as larger parts of the metropolitan area of Seville (Metropolitana de Sevilla).
The environmental zone of the city is divided into 6 subzones: the 1st zone in the east (Este), the 2nd in the south (Sur), the 3rd in the north (Norte), the 4th in the centre (Centro), the 5th in the west (Oeste) and the 6th in the central eastern zone (Centro Este).
The urban LEZ (Low Emission Zone) is also called ZBE (Zona Bajas Emissions) in Spain and is only activated during traffic-related air pollution peaks.

In Seville, several pollutants contribute to the activation of air pollution alerts and early warnings. These are nitrogen dioxide (NO2), particulate matter (PM10), sulphur dioxide (SO2), carbon monoxide (CO) and ozone (O3). When precisely defined limit values are reached, the city authorities issue early warnings and alerts and apply driving bans.

Depending on the duration and intensity of the air pollution peaks, the measures taken by the city are activated following 3 stages.

The current status of access rights to the zone for individual vehicle types and an overview for different weekdays and times can only be viewed in the Green-Zones app.

Table overview of the environmental zone

Naam van de milieuzone:
LEZ-milieuzone Sevilla - Spanje
Milieuzone geldig sinds:
Soort milieuzone:
Weersgebonden LEZ-milieuzone met verkeersbeperkingen en rijverboden die geldig zijn na de aankondiging van een waarschuwing.
Boetes :
90 €
Gebied van de milieuzone:
De milieuzone bestaat uit de volgende 6 gebieden: Zona Oeste, Zona Sur, Zona Norte, Zona Centro, Zona Este, Zone Centro Este.
Order a Spanish Distintivo Ambiental badge for ZEZ / LEZ environmental zones in Spain here.